Fragsburg Logo
request
book

Pure Gourmet Excellence

prev
1 / 6
next
next

In our eyes, it is no longer enough to just cook deliciously and creatively, but to prepare dishes that seduce the guest with all senses and serve the physical, mental and spiritual well-being. For castle lord Alexander Ortner, the development of food preparation in human history is one of the most exciting topics of all, the rediscovery of forgotten culinary delights is a triumph and the combination of taste and health is a glorious challenge to achieve.

With the spirit of fulfilling this mission and living a “Pure Gourmet Excellence”, our chef de cuisine Egon Heiss and his team are wholeheartedly at work.

Egon and his chefs harvest our vegetables, herbs and fruits for our gourmet restaurant “Prezioso” and the “Fragsburg Orangerie” restaurant directly from the earth every day at our “Fragsburg Soul Garden”. This fertile 2000 square meter site in our 5-hectare castle park by the forest has grown into a green oasis and is raised without any chemicals by a South Tyrolean women’s initiative that looks after refugees. With small local farmers, fish and crab breeders, Egon initiated special Fragsburg cultivations. Our Modern Alchemist and herbalist Renate De Mario Gamper, who runs our healing spa Castellum Natura, provides Egon with advice on the refinements of the culinary nutritional content of the dishes in order to meet our high standards.

A world of exquisite Alpine-Mediterranean cuisine
Strong culinary art against an incredible backdrop

Our restaurant

The perfection of simplicity

Our South Tyrolean chef, Egon Heiss, says ‘The highest form of art is to ignore the insignificant.’ Over the course of his long career as a Michelin stared chef, he’s cooked delicious food all over the world for politicians, Formula 1 stars, royalty and billionaires. Egon is convinced that ‘if you’ve seen and experienced everything there is to see and do, you return to the perfection of the simple things in life.’

In this vein, the ‘tinkerer and magician’ from Val Sarentino – a moniker given to him by cooking critics of the Gault Millau guide who wax lyrical when praising his creations as ‘very astutely staged works of art’ – has been in pursuit of the perfect “Knödel”, for years and years. And although his personal library is packed with cooking books, more than 3,000 to be precise, he’s focused his research on recipes handed down from one generation to the next by speaking to the elderly who still have the knowledge of those recipes. The father of three, who never wanted to be anything other than a chef, tells us lovingly how ‘my grandparents explain me how they grab a ‘pinch’ of this and a ‘dash’ of that. That’s what cooking from the gut means. They also know how draughts and the weather can play a key role when cooking dumplings.’ His childhood dream of becoming a chef was never about collecting stars and toques but to ‘cook and eat together.’ Which is why the bread expert and dumpling lover delivers passionate, private cooking classes which you can book here with us.

For centuries, the Fragsburg is strongly anchored in stone and rock and has always given the impression of swaying gently above the tree tops; similarly, our cooking concept is deeply rooted in the South Tyrolean tradition yet enriched with Italian sensuality and openness to the world’s flavours.

Royale breakfast

Breakfast like a king

So goes the old saying, and it’s one we’ve taken to heart. Our royal breakfast is our pride and joy. It goes without saying that all our specialities are fresh and homemade. We offer everything you could wish for: mouth-watering bread, croissants fresh from the oven and South Tyrolean pastries, served with fruit jams and chutneys, creamy nut spread or delicacies from the cheese counter with antipasti – or would you prefer muesli, nuts and fruit from the fresh fruit bar?
It’s all accompanied by freshly pressed juices and teas made with herbs and flowers from our garden. And there’s also sparkling wine for anyone who would like to get the day off to a sparkling start.

Breakfast Menu

Our award-winning restaurant isn’t just for our guests.


Opening Hours from Tuesday to Saturday

Breakfast from 07.30 Uhr until 11.00 Uhr

Dinner from 19.00 until 21.00 Uhr


However, since there are only a limited number of tables available, please make a reservation in advance.
Relais & Chareaux Logo
Virtuoso
  • 7:00
  • 8:00
  • 9:00
  • 10:00
  • 11:00
  • 12:00
  • 13:00
  • 14:00
  • 15:00
  • 16:00
  • 17:00
  • 18:00
  • 19:00
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
book
Amadeus GDS: WB BZOT40 | Galileo/Apollo GDS: WB 75440 | Sabre GDS: WB 061591 | WorldSpan GDS: WB IT40
Fragsburg 3 · 
39012 Meran · Italy
· +39 0473 244071 · info@fragsburg.com IT 01629410216
Sitemap

Das Castel Fragsburg macht Winterschlaf.
Castel Fragsburg is hibernating
Il Castel Fragsburg va in letargo


Bis Ende März
Fino la fine di Marzo
Until the end of March


office hours:
mo – fr: 09:00 - 15:00
phone: 0039 0473 244071
mail: info@fragsburg.com

Fragsburg Logo
anfragen
buchen

Pure Gourmet Excellence

prev
1 / 8
next
next

In unseren Augen reicht es nicht mehr nur köstlich und kreativ zu kochen, sondern Gerichte zu kreieren, die den Gast mit allen Sinnen betören und seinem körperlichen, geistigen und seelischem Wohl dienen. Für Burgherrn Alexander Ortner ist die Entwicklung der Essenszubereitung in der Geschichte der Menschheit eines der spannendsten Themen überhaupt, die Wiederentdeckung vergessener Gaumenfreuden ein Triumph und die Verbindung von Geschmack und Gesundheit eine glorreiche Herausforderung.

Mit dem Spirit diesem Auftrag gerecht zu werden und eine « Pure Gourmet Excellence » zu leben, ist unser Küchenchef Egon Heiss mit seinem Team aus vollem Herzen am Werk.

Unser Gemüse, die Kräuter und Früchte für unser Gourmetrestaurant „Prezioso“ und das Fragsburger Orangerie Restaurant erntet Egon mit seinen Köchen täglich direkt aus der Erde von unserem „Fragsburger Soul Garden“, der auf einem fruchtbaren 2000 Quadratmeter-Areal in unserem 5 Hektar großen Schlosspark am Wald zu einer grünen Oase herangewachsen ist und ohne jegliche Chemie von einer Südtiroler Fraueninitiative, die Flüchtlinge betreut, bestellt wird. Mit kleinen hiesigen Bauern, Fisch- und Krebszüchtern hat Egon besondere Fragsburg Kultivierungen initiiert. Unsere moderne Alchemistin und Kräuterpädagogin Renate De Mario Gamper, die unser Heil-Spa Castellum Natura leitet, steht Egon bei den inhaltlichen Verfeinerungen des kulinarischen Nährgehalts der Gerichte beratend zur Seite, um unserem hohen Anspruch gerecht zu werden.

Alpin-mediterrane Genusswelt
Starke Kochkunst vor fantastischer Kulisse

Unser Restaurant

Die Perfektion der Einfachkeit

“Die höchste Kunst ist es, das Unwesentliche wegzulassen”, ist ein Zitat von unserem Südtiroler Küchenchef Egon Heiss, der in seiner langen Karriere als Sternekoch Politiker, Formel 1 Stars, gekrönte Häupter und Milliardäre auf der ganzen Welt bekocht hat. “Wer alles schon gesehen und erlebt hat, der kommt zurück zur Perfektion der Einfachheit.”, davon ist Egon überzeugt.

So ist der Sarntaler “Tüftler und Zauberer” wie er von den Gastrokritikern des Gault Millau Führers bezeichnet wird, die seine Kreationen als “messerscharf inszenierte Meisterwerke und Gesamtkunstwerke” überschwänglich loben, seit vielen Jahren schlicht auf der Suche nach dem perfekten Knödel. Und obwohl in seiner Bibliothek über 3000 Kochbücher stehen, ist er dazu übergegangen bei den Senioren nach den überlieferten Rezepten zu fragen, die fast niemand mehr kennt. “Meine Grosseltern erklären mir dann, man nimmt ein ‘Schalerle’ von dem und ein ‘Handerl' von dem. Das Gefühl ist es. Sie wissen auch, dass die Zugluft und das Wetter beim Knödel machen eine entscheidende Rolle spielen” erzählt der Vater von drei Kindern liebevoll, der nie irgendetwas anderes werden wollte als Koch. Dabei hatte er nicht unbedingt vor Sterne und Hauben zu sammeln, sondern “gemeinsam zu kochen und zu essen”. Deshalb gibt der Brotkenner und Knödelliebhaber leidenschaftlich private Kochkurse, die Sie bei uns buchen können.

So wie die Fragsburg seit Jahrhunderten fest verankert in Stein und Fels über den Baumwipfeln zu schweben scheint, zeichnet unsere Küchenphilosophie die Verwurzelung in der Heimaterde und den Traditionen Südtirols aus, verbrämt mit italienischer Sinnlichkeit und erlebten Genüssen aus der Welt.

Frühstück Royale

Frühstücken wie ein Kaiser

Heißt es in einem alten Sprichwort und ist auch unser Credo. Darum ist unser royales Frühstück unser ganzer Stolz. Dass alle Spezialitäten frisch und hausgemacht sind, versteht sich natürlich von selbst. Bei uns finden sich alle Geschmäcker wieder: duftendes Brot, ofenfrische Croissants und Südtiroler Gebäck.
Darauf fruchtige Marmeladen und Chutneys, Nusscreme oder Erlesenes aus der Käsevitrine mit Antipasti. Oder lieber Müsli, Nüsse und Obst aus der erntefrischen Früchtebar? Dazu gepresste Säfte oder Tees aus Blumen und Kräutern unseres Gartens. Für alle, die es prickelnd mögen, gibt es erlesenen Schaumwein.
Unser Frühstück Royale wurde von der Zeitschrift Vanity Fair zu den Mighty Top Ten Frühstück-Experiences in Italien ausgezeichnet.

Speisekarte Frühstück

Pure Excellence

Fragsburg Soul Garden

Im Castel Fragsburg Soul Garden, geführt von einer Frauen-geleiteten Flüchtlingsinitiative, werden exklusiv für die Hotel- und Restaurantgäste ausgesuchte Gemüse- Obst-, und Kräutersorten angebaut, ohne jegliche Verwendung von Chemie.

Fragsburg Soul Garden

Die prämierte Kochkunst unseres Hauses bleibt nicht nur unseren Hausgästen vorbehalten


Öffnungszeiten von Dienstag bis Samstag

Frühstück von 07.30 Uhr bis 11.00 Uhr

Dinner von 19.00 bis 21.00 Uhr


Da die Tischanzahl in unserem Restaurant jedoch limitiert ist, bitten wir um rechtzeitige Reservierung.
Relais & Chareaux Logo
Virtuoso
  • 7:00
  • 8:00
  • 9:00
  • 10:00
  • 11:00
  • 12:00
  • 13:00
  • 14:00
  • 15:00
  • 16:00
  • 17:00
  • 18:00
  • 19:00
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
buchen
Amadeus GDS: WB BZOT40 | Galileo/Apollo GDS: WB 75440 | Sabre GDS: WB 061591 | WorldSpan GDS: WB IT40
Fragsburg 3 · 
39012 Meran · Italy
· +39 0473 244071 · info@fragsburg.com IT 01629410216
Sitemap